Education - Maison Saint-Gabriel


THE ADVENTURE OF THE KING’S WARDS

Why were they called
Filles du Roi (King’s Wards)?

It was Marguerite Bourgeoys who gave this name to the young women who were provided with financial assistance by King Louis XIV to settle in New France.

In the 17th century, there were very few women in New France. To help the development of the colony, Louis XIV sent women to marry the colonists. Between 1663 and 1673, approximately 800 such women crossed the Atlantic.

The King’s Wards who arrived in Ville-Marie were welcomed at the farmhouse in the Point as early as 1668. The sisters took care of these women who were to take husbands and populate the colony.

For a while, the 30-acre farm purchased by Marguerite Bourgeoys was their home. They were entrusted to the care of Catherine Crolo, a robust woman who supervised the operation of the farm. With her, the young women learned to adapt to life in their new country until they found a husband.

Demographic Heritage

The demographic impact of the King’s Wards is undeniable. Approximately 800 young women crossed the Atlantic. They each had an average of 5 to 6 children. It is, therefore, no surprise that their names are part of the family tree of numerous Quebec families of French origin.

Filles du Roy archive CND


The Mission of MARGUERITE BOURGEOYS

Marguerite Bourgeoys (1620-1700) arrived in Ville-Marie in 1653. She had a clear vision of her mission in the small colony: provide free education to the children and women.

To reach her goal, she founded the Congrégation de Notre-Dame. In the 17th century, the religious community of women were mainly cloistered. However, the vision Marguerite Bourgeoys had of teaching and education required being present in the community.

It was with great determination and perseverance that she defended the rights of the sisters of the Congregation to have an uncloistered religious life. The first school in Montreal opened its doors in 1658.

Workroom of Providence Marguerite Bourgeoys established a workroom called La Providence where, under the supervision of Catherine Crolo, the young women were taught to read, count, sew, prepare meals, and tend to the vegetable garden and animals.

And so began the first home economics school in America. In 1693, the workroom was destroyed by a fire at the farmhouse.

Cultivate to Teach
Marguerite soon realized that farming was a way of providing self-sufficiency for her companions who had come to assist her in her mission. Thus, her teaching community broadened to include farming sisters – the sharecroppers.

In 1662, Marguerite Bourgeoys obtained a land concession in Pointe-Saint-Charles from Paul de Chomedey de Maisonneuve, Governor of Montreal. In 1668, she added on to it an adjoining piece of land and a house built of fieldstone that she bought from her neighbour, François Le Ber.

This farm in Pointe-Saint-Charles provided a means of subsistence for the sisters devoted to teaching.

Signature de l’acte de vente

Legal Status
In 1671, King Louis XIV granted Marguerite Bourgeoys letters patent and officially authorized “the establishment of the Congrégation de Notre-Dame on the Island of Montreal in New France.”


ARCHITECTURAL HERITAGE

Maison Saint-Gabriel, museum and historic site, opened its doors in 1966. Situated in Pointe-Saint-Charles, the beautiful building is one of the finest examples of the traditional architecture of New France.

In 1965, two buildings on the site, the barn and the fieldstone house, were classified historic monuments. In 1992, the site was officially recognized as historic by the Quebec Ministry of Culture and Communications. Finally, in 2007, Maison Saint-Gabriel was recognized as a national historic site of Canada.

These marks of recognition bear witness to the importance of this site as a unique place for raising awareness about the history and heritage of Quebec since the French regime.

Farmhouse

This property has belonged to the Congrégration de Notre-Dame since 1668, it was the centre of its activities up to 1955.

Its rich past and the pride taken in preserving it have generated a collection of over 20,000 objects. In 1966 it became a museum focused on education through history.

Well

The well on this historic site has been in the same place since 1660. It was an important source of drinking water for over two centuries. Even after running water was available at the farm in 1868, the well continued to be used until 1940.

Among other things, the sisters used the well water to make the parish hosts. After factories opened near the farm, the groundwater became contaminated and the well was condemned.

Wayside Cross

Living near the river has its inconveniences. Flooding is a recurring problem. Spring breakups like those of 1681, 1746, 1861, 1865 and 1886 were significant.

In 1818, the sisters erected a cross imploring divine protection against the heavy rains that swell the Saint Lawrence River. This ex-voto was first placed on the road leading to Wellington Street. The cross was moved a few times before being placed in its current location in front of the house.

Between 1886 and 1888, the City of Montreal expropriated a stretch of land to the south of the farm. A dyke was built to protect a part of the South-West from flooding.

Stone Barn

This beautiful 19th century building is a rare example of barns build of stone. In 1965 it was classified a historic monument. In 1993, it was restored and a showroom and activities area were added.

Originally, the barn included a stable and a hayloft where grain and hay were stored and threshed. Over the years, it also included a pigsty, a cowshed, a henhouse, a hutch, a root cellar and a canning room.

Catherine-Crolo Pavilion

In 1964, the Jeanne-Le Ber Residence was built near Maison Saint-Gabriel to house the sisters of the Congrégation de Notre-Dame who began managing the museum in 1966.

Due to the increasing popularity of the museum, the sisters’ residence received a new vocation. After extensive renovation, it became the reception pavilion of the museum and was inaugurated in 2010.

It houses the ticket office, restaurant, gift shop, conference room – which opens up onto a terrace, and meeting rooms.

Bread Oven

Since the 17th century, exterior bread ovens, also called “summer ovens,” were generally built of clay and covered with a small roof to protect them from the elements.

The bread oven at Maison Saint-Gabriel was made using traditional craftsmanship by artisan Jean Laberge.

A cement hearth (floor) is poured onto a solid platform made of stone or timber, it is then smoothed out and a door is installed. Using a template made of alder, the oven is moulded out of clay that has been kneaded with straw. A small roof is placed on top of the oven that will be left to dry for one week. The first fire burns the alder and hardens the vault.

Baking the Bread

First, a wood fire is lit to heat the oven. Then, the ashes are removed and the oven is left to cool to the right temperature before a batch of loaves is placed inside to bake for approximately 30 minutes. The loaves are either baked in moulds or directly on the floor of the oven, depending on the type of bread being prepared.

Who is Catherine Crolo?

Catherine Crolo (1619-1699) was born in Lauzon, Lorraine. Her parents settled in Troyes, Champagne, where she met and became friends with Marguerite Bourgeoys. In 1659, she was one of the four companions who crossed the ocean with Marguerite to help with her work in Ville-Marie.

Illustration Francis Back / Collection Musée Marguerite-Bourgeoys/ © Raphaëlle & Félix Back

In 1668, Marguerite Bourgeoys entrusted her with the farm of the Point then called La Providence. She oversaw the clearing of the land, its cultivation, tenant farming, and crop management. She also welcomed the King’s Wards and prepared them for their new lives.

A true pioneer, she was the first of 86 sharecroppers who would successively manage the farm until 1955.


INTANGIBLE HERITAGE

Intangible heritage consists of elements that are transmitted from one person to another. They can include expertise, knowledge, practices, expressions, etc.

VIDEOS (available in French only)

Intangible heritage is a living heritage because it is transmitted from generation to generation by “tradition-bearers.” At Maison Saint-Gabriel, we call these men and women “passers-on of memory.”

TIME CAPSULE (available in French only)

A series of time capsules are available and are royalties-free for use for educational purposes. They are based on such themes as crafts, traditions, the seasons and daily life in New France.


URBAN
APICULTURE

Following the beekeeping tradition of the Congrégation de Notre-Dame, Maison Saint-Gabriel has a hive in its gardens. BEE A FRIEND > > .

CAPSULES APIS

True to our educational mission, we have a few information capsules to help you learn more about bees, urban apiculture and, of course, history.

The first European colonists introduced the domestic bee (Apis mellifère) to North America. At the time, pollination was done by other types of bees or insects.

The domestic bees quickly adapted and became an integral part of our agricultural system. Under the French regime, honey was primarily used for its therapeutic properties. For cooking, colonists preferred using sugar imported from the West Indies or maple syrup.

Bees are social insects that live in communities called colonies. In a hive, there are between 40,000 and 60,000 worker bees and approximately 1,000 drones (males) living around a central figure: the queen, the mother of all.

The worker bees 
The worker bee carries out several tasks during her brief existence (30 to 45 days) for the benefit of the colony. She spends the first half of her life performing tasks in the hive. Her first task is to clean the hive. Then she makes royal jelly to feed the queen and the larvae. Finally, she produces wax to make the honeycombs. In order to control the temperature in the hive, the fanning bees beat their wings frenetically and, to ensure safety, the guard bees check the identity of the bees that enter the hive. From the 21st day of her life until she dies, the bee can finally forage flowers.

The queen 
In order to become a queen, a larva is only fed royal jelly during its development. It is this diet, and only this one, that will enable this bee to become a queen, the only fertile female in the colony. When a young queen must be fertilized, she sets out on a nuptial flight, followed by a cloud of drones. She will mate with the most vigorous ones (about a dozen) while flying until her spermatheca is sufficiently filled to produce several colonies. Once settled in, the queen lays eggs continuously (up to 2,000 eggs per day), for the rest of her life (1 to 4 years).

The drones 
The drones are the only males in the colony. They are called drones because their bodies are larger than those of the worker bees and they have no stinger. There are not many drones in the hive and their main purpose is to fertilize the queen. Since they cannot collect nectar, they must be fed by the worker bees. Unfortunately for them, they die immediately after fertilization and the others are expelled from the hive when the cold weather returns.

The disappearance of the bees could destabilize the planet’s entire ecosystem. Human beings could encounter difficulties producing food. There would be almost no pollination, which would result in the disappearance of many plants.

It is possible that, as long as the decline of bee colonies has no immediate impact on the price of our food, little will be done to protect them.

The importance of pollination
The decline in these pollinating insects represents a serious threat to global food production and jeopardises the means of subsistence of millions of people. More than three quarters of the main crops depend, in one way or another, on pollination. Crops that depend on pollination represent 35% of the volume of the global production intended for food.

Why is the city a good place for apiculture?
Unlike rural regions contaminated by a new range of pesticides that have a direct effect on the bee’s nervous system, the city is subject to anti-pesticide regulations that provide a healthier environment for bees. The city also has interesting floral diversity that, throughout the season, provides a varied diet for bees.

Nectar plants are an excellent source of nectar and pollen and contribute to the health of bees. There are many kinds of nectar plants and they are easy to include in gardens. Growing such plants is a good way to ensure biodiversity and healthy bees.

Here are a few examples of nectar plants in our gardens.

examples of nectar plants

examples of nectar plants

examples of nectar plants

examples of nectar plants

examples of nectar plants

examples of nectar plants

L’AVENTURE DES FILLES DU ROY

D’où vient l’expression « Filles du Roy » ?

C’est Marguerite Bourgeoys qui désigne ainsi les jeunes filles qui bénéficient de l’aide financière du roi Louis XIV pour venir s’établir en Nouvelle-France.

Au 17e siècle, les femmes sont rares en Nouvelle-France. Pour soutenir le développement de la colonie, Louis XIV envoie des filles à marier. Elles sont environ 800 à faire la traversée de 1663 à 1673.

Lieu d’accueil des Filles du Roy

Celles qui voyagent jusqu’à Ville-Marie sont accueillies dans la maison de ferme de la Pointe dès 1668. Les religieuses veillent sur ces précieuses filles à marier venues peupler la colonie.

Pendant quelque temps, la ferme de 30 arpents achetée par Marguerite Bourgeoys devient leur foyer. Elles sont confiées aux soins de Catherine Crolo, une femme robuste qui supervise l’exploitation de la ferme. Avec elle, les jeunes filles apprennent à s’adapter à leur nouveau pays jusqu’à ce qu’elles choisissent un mari.

Héritage démographique

L’impact démographique des Filles du Roy est indéniable. On compte environ 800 jeunes filles qui font la traversée. Elles ont en moyenne 5 à 6 enfants chacune. Pas surprenant qu’elles se retrouvent dans l’arbre généalogique de nombreuses familles québécoises d’origine française.

Filles du Roy archive CND


MISSION DE MARGUERITE BOURGEOYS

Marguerite Bourgeoys (1620-1700) arrive à Ville-Marie en 1653.
Elle a une vision claire de sa mission dans la petite colonie : instruire et éduquer gratuitement les enfants et les premiers arrivants.

Pour y arriver, elle fonde la Congrégation de Notre-Dame. Au 17e siècle, les communautés religieuses féminines sont très majoritairement cloîtrées. Cependant, la vision de Marguerite Bourgeoys de l’enseignement et de l’éducation nécessite une présence au sein de la collectivité.

C’est avec beaucoup de fermeté et de persévérance qu’elle a défendu le droit des sœurs de sa congrégation à une vie séculière. La première école de Montréal ouvre ses portes en 1658.

L’ouvroir de la Providence Marguerite Bourgeoys établit l’ouvroir de la Providence à Pointe-Saint-Charles. Sous la supervision de Catherine Crolo, les jeunes filles y apprennent à lire et à compter, mais aussi à coudre, à transformer les produits de la terre, à préparer les repas, à s’occuper du potager et des animaux.
Ainsi naît la toute première école d’enseignement ménager en Amérique. L’ouvroir disparaît en 1693 lors de l’incendie de la maison de ferme.

Cultiver pour instruire
Marguerite Bourgeoys reconnaît rapidement dans l’exploitation agricole la voie vers l’autosuffisance pour ses compagnes venues l’appuyer dans sa tâche. C’est ainsi que les rangs de sa communauté d’enseignantes s’enrichissent de sœurs fermières, les métayères.

En 1662, elle obtient de Paul de Chomedey de Maisonneuve, gouverneur de Montréal, une concession de terre à la Pointe-Saint-Charles. Elle l’agrandit en 1668 en achetant de son voisin, François Le Ber, la terre et la maison en pierre des champs.

Grâce à l’exploitation de la ferme de la Pointe, les sœurs vouées à l’enseignement reçoivent le nécessaire à leur subsistance.

Signature de l’acte de vente

Statut légal
En 1671, le roi Louis XIV accorde à Marguerite Bourgeoys des Lettres patentes et il autorise officiellement « l’établissement de la Congrégation de Notre-Dame dans ladite île de Montréal en Nouvelle-France ».


PATRIMOINE ARCHITECTURAL

La Maison Saint-Gabriel, musée et site historique, a ouvert ses portes en 1966. Située à Pointe-Saint-Charles, cette magnifique bâtisse est l’un des plus beaux exemples de l’architecture traditionnelle de la Nouvelle-France.

La grange et la maison de pierres sont déclarées monuments historiques en 1965. Le site est officiellement reconnu comme étant historique par le ministère de la Culture et des Communications en 1992. Enfin, la Maison Saint-Gabriel est reconnue comme Lieu historique national du Canada en 2007.

Ces marques de reconnaissance témoignent de l’importance de ce domaine comme lieu unique de sensibilisation à l’histoire et au patrimoine québécois depuis le Régime français.

Maison de ferme

Propriété de la Congrégation de Notre-Dame depuis 1668, ce domaine a été au cœur de ses activités jusqu’en 1955.

Son riche passé et la fierté de le conserver ont généré une collection de plus de 20 000 objets. L’établissement adopte une vocation muséale en 1966 avec une mission d’éducation par l’histoire.

Puits

Le puits du site historique se trouve au même emplacement depuis les années 1660. Il constitue une importante source d’eau potable pendant plus de deux siècles. Même si l’eau courante est disponible à la ferme à la ferme à partir de 1868, le puits est utilisé jusque dans les années 1940.

Les sœurs fermières utilisent l’eau du puits entre autres pour la confection des hosties de la paroisse. Avec l’ouverture d’usines à proximité de la ferme, la nappe phréatique est contaminée et le puits, condamné.

Croix de chemin

Vivre près du fleuve a ses inconvénients. Les inondations sont une menace fréquente. Les débâcles printanières, comme celles de 1681, 1746, 1861, 1865 et 1886, sont marquantes.

En 1818, les sœurs érigent une croix en implorant la protection divine contre les pluies diluviennes qui gonflent les eaux du Saint-Laurent. Cet ex-voto est d’abord installé sur la voie menant à la rue Wellington. La croix occupe différents emplacements avant de trouver sa place actuelle devant la maison.

Entre 1886 et 1888, la ville de Montréal exproprie une bande de terre au sud de la ferme. Une digue y est installée afin de protéger une partie du Sud-Ouest des inondations.

Grange en pierre

Ce magnifique bâtiment du 19e siècle est un rare exemple de grange construite en pierre. Classé monument historique en 1965, il a été restauré en 1992 pour accueillir une salle d’exposition et une aire d’animation.

À l’origine, la grange comprend une écurie et un fenil. Ce dernier sert à l’entreposage du grain et du foin. C’est aussi là qu’on bat le grain. Selon l’époque, la métairie comprend également une porcherie, une étable, un poulailler, un clapier, un caveau à légumes et une conserverie.

Pavillon Catherine-Crolo

En 1964, on construit la résidence Jeanne-Le Ber pour y loger des
religieuses de la Congrégation de Notre-Dame. À partir de 1966, elles veillent à la vie muséale de l’établissement.

Étant donné la popularité croissante du musée, un changement de vocation s’impose pour la résidence des sœurs. Après avoir fait l’objet d’une rénovation majeure, celle-ci devient le lieu d’accueil des visiteurs du musée.

Le bâtiment renommé pavillon Catherine-Crolo est inauguré en 2010. On y trouve une billetterie, un restaurant, une boutique, des salles de réunion et une salle de conférence s’ouvrant sur une terrasse.

Four à pain

Souvent appelés « fours de l’été », les fours à pain extérieurs sont généralement construits en glaise et surmontés d’un petit toit pour les protéger des intempéries. On observe cette méthode de fabrication dès le 17e siècle.

Le four à pain que l’on trouve sur le site de la Maison Saint-Gabriel a été construit selon les règles de l’art par l’artisan Jean Laberge.

Sur une solide plateforme en pierre ou en madriers, un âtre en ciment est coulé et lissé (la sole), et la porte est aussitôt installée. Le four est ensuite moulé avec de la glaise, bien pétrie avec de la paille, sur un gabarit fait d’aulnes. Un petit toit est monté sur le four, qui va sécher pendant une semaine. Un premier feu brûle les aulnes et durcit la voûte.

La cuisson du pain

Une fois le four bien chauffé avec un feu de bois, les cendres sont retirées. Il doit refroidir un peu pour atteindre la température adéquate, puis une fournée de plusieurs pains est mise à cuire. La cuisson dure environ 30 minutes. Les pains sont cuits dans des moules ou bien directement sur la sole, selon le genre de pain que l’on prépare.

Qui est Catherine Crolo ?

Catherine Crolo (1619-1699) naît à Lauzon en Lorraine. Ses parents s’établissent à Troyes en Champagne où elle rencontre et se lie d’amitié avec Marguerite Bourgeoys. En 1658, elle entreprend la grande traversée pour rejoindre son amie à Ville-Marie.

Illustration Francis Back / Collection Musée Marguerite-Bourgeoys/ © Raphaëlle & Félix Back

En 1668, Marguerite Bourgeoys lui confie la ferme de la Pointe que l’on nomme alors La Providence. C’est elle qui dirige le défrichement, la mise en culture, le fermage et la gestion des récoltes.

C’est également elle qui accueille les Filles du Roy de Ville-Marie et les préparent à leur nouvelle vie.
Véritable pionnière, elle est la première métayère de 86 femmes qui se succèdent à la tête de la ferme jusqu’en 1955.


PATRIMOINE IMMATÉRIEL

Le patrimoine immatériel est constitué d’éléments qui peuvent se transmettre d’une personne à une autre. Il peut s’agir de savoir-faire, de connaissances, de pratiques, d’expressions, etc.

CAPSULES VIDÉOS

Le patrimoine immatériel est vivant puisqu’il est transmis de génération en génération par des « porteurs de tradition ». À la Maison Saint-Gabriel, nous surnommons ces hommes et ces femmes, les « passeurs de mémoires ».

CAPSULES HISTORIQUES

Une série de capsules historiques sont disponibles et libres de droits pour utilisation scolaire. On y présente des thèmes liés aux métiers, aux traditions, aux saisons et à la vie quotidienne en Nouvelle-France.


APICULTURE
URBAINE

Le musée se préoccupe du déclin des pollinisateurs. Découvrez notre campagne de sensibilisation ADOPTE UNE ABEILLE >>.

CAPSULES APIS

Fidèle à notre mission d’éducation, nous vous proposons quelques capsules informatives pour en apprendre plus sur les abeilles et l’apiculture urbaine.

Ce sont les premiers colons européens qui introduisent l’abeille domestique (Apis mellifère) en Amérique du Nord. La pollinisation se fait alors avec d’autres types d’abeilles ou d’insectes. Les abeilles domestiques s’adaptent rapidement et deviennent partie intégrante de notre système agricole.

Sous le Régime français, le miel est surtout utilisé pour ses vertus thérapeutiques. En cuisine, les colons préfèrent le sucre importé des Antilles ou le sirop d’érable.

Les abeilles sont des insectes sociaux qui vivent en communauté qu’on appelle la colonie. Dans une ruche, on trouve entre 40 000 et 60 000 abeilles ouvrières et environ 1 000 faux bourdons (les mâles). Ils vivent autour d’un personnage central : la reine, la mère de tous. 

Les ouvrières 
L’ouvrière d’été occupe plusieurs fonctions pendant sa courte existence (30 à 45 jours) pour la bonne conduite de la colonie. Elle passe la première moitié de sa vie à des tâches à l’intérieur de la ruche. Sa première mission est de nettoyer la ruche, ensuite de fabriquer la gelée royale pour nourrir la reine et les larves, puis de produire de la cire pour construire les alvéoles. Pour contrôler la température, les ventileuses battent frénétiquement des ailes et, pour assurer la sécurité, les sentinelles contrôlent l’identité des abeilles qui pénètrent dans la ruche. De son 21e jour d’existence jusqu’à sa mort, l’abeille peut enfin aller butiner les fleurs.

La reine 
Pour obtenir une reine, une larve doit être nourrie exclusivement de gelée royale pendant son développement. C’est ce régime, et lui seul, qui permet d’obtenir une reine, la seule femelle fertile de la colonie. Lorsqu’une jeune reine doit être fécondée, elle s’élance dans un vol nuptial, une nuée de faux bourdons à sa suite. Elle va s’accoupler avec les plus vigoureux en plein vol (environ une dizaine) jusqu’à ce que sa spermathèque soit suffisamment remplie pour engendrer plusieurs colonies. Une fois installée, la reine pond en permanence (jusqu’à 2 000 œufs par jour), et ce, pour le reste de sa vie (1 à 4 ans).

Les faux bourdons 
Les faux bourdons sont les seuls mâles de la colonie. Ils se nomment ainsi car leur corps est plus massif que celui des ouvrières et ils n’ont pas d’aiguillon. Les faux bourdons sont peu nombreux dans la ruche et servent principalement à féconder la reine. Ils ne peuvent pas butiner ; ils doivent donc se faire nourrir par les ouvrières. Malheureusement pour eux, ils meurent immédiatement après la fécondation et les autres sont expulsés de la ruche au retour du froid.

La disparition des abeilles pourrait déséquilibrer tout l’écosystème de la planète. L’homme aurait plus de difficultés à se nourrir. Il n’y aurait presque plus de pollinisation ce qui entraînerait la disparition de nombreux végétaux.

On est tenté de croire que tant que la diminution des colonies d’abeilles n’aura pas d’impact sur le prix de notre alimentation, peu sera fait pour les protéger.

L’importance de la pollinisation
Le déclin de ces insectes pollinisateurs constitue une grave menace pour la production alimentaire mondiale et met en danger les moyens de subsistance de millions de personnes. Plus des trois quarts des principales cultures dépendent d’une manière ou d’une autre de la pollinisation. Les cultures dépendant de la pollinisation représentent 35% volume de la production mondiale destinée à l’alimentation.

Pourquoi la ville est-elle propice à l’apiculture?
Contrairement aux régions rurales contaminées par une nouvelle gamme de pesticides qui affectent directement le système nerveux de l’abeille, la ville a des règlementations anti-pesticides qui favorisent un environnement plus sain pour l’abeille. La ville possède aussi des espaces floraux intéressants qui, tout au long de la saison, offrent de la nourriture variée aux abeilles.

Les plantes mellifères offrent une excellente source de nectar et de pollen et favorisent la santé des abeilles. Les espèces mellifères sont nombreuses et faciles à intégrer à son jardin. En les privilégiant, on fait un bon geste pour la biodiversité.

Voici quelques exemples de plantes mellifères de nos jardins.